OpenCPN help

I am fairly new to sailing and am trying to figure out what I need to connect a radar, and auto pilot and other devices to my laptop and then to connect them to OpenCPN (Cables and other devices needed). I have been playing with it a little on my desktop, but will be digging out the laptop and installing it on there soon.

I have a Garmin GPS 12 and the USB/Serial adaptor needed to connect it, but so far that is the only thing I really have to connect anything.

I have purchased a Used 4kw radar dome and Raymarine RL70CRC Plus and another display device and it should be here in a few days. I have a Raymarine ST6002 autopilot  w/a raymarine X5 smart pilot. I am still looking for a Masthead transponder for wind speed and direction data.

Can OpenCPN use Navionic charts? What are the best charts to use with OpenCPN?

Any help on what I will need at a minimum to connect all this to the laptop would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance..

Hello Matt,

Firstly welcome to crew.org!

Before I can be of much help, what operating system (Windows/Linux etc) are you using on your PC's? If it is Windows 7 or newer, it's pretty easy to connect the GPS. Plug it in when online, and it should load the drivers required, and add a Com port. Note which Com port number it is and open OCPN, go into setup, connections, and add that com port (serial port, probably 4800,8,N,1 unless the manual says otherwise). Then make sure OCPN can see the incoming NMEA sentences in the debug window. If it cannot, the GPS is not sending, or it's the wrong com port, or port settings.

Sorry, but the Radar is not supported by OCPN - currently it has to be a Garmin HD, or Navico (Lowrance/Simrad/B&G) br24, 3G or 4G.

Charts; No, opencpn cannot use Navionics charts. Navionics is a proprietary format. Where do you want charts for?

Sorry the first reply is so negative - would have been good if you had asked here - or checked the OCPN manual before buying your radar....

Good luck