Niave newbie questions

Hi all.

Im new to sailing, yachts and all. I have a lot of learning to do. Especially too realise my dreams.

But

While I am quite handy with asking google for advice and researching using the interwebs.  I just keep feeling like there are holes in what I am reading or a reason why my internal questions are hard to find answers for. So I thought I would start a new topic and well ask lots of naive and daft questions lol.  If anything it might answer a few for the other beginners also.   Hope this is okay?

Okay first up...While I am defiantly still learning about different boats designs and equipment.  One thing that does seem to be making itself very obvious is the price of boats. I some times look at boats on trademe and think I must be seriously missing the pluses of certain vessels, because they don't seem to offer a lot, especially for age and can look like shitters in the pictures?  Are boat prices usually quite firm or often sold for a lot less than advertised?  

Hi MCP, welcome aboard crew.org. I think that your question is way too broad. Do you have particular vessels in mind? Some on trademe are, (like some cars on trademe)  advertised for unrealistic prices, and wont sell, or wont sell for anywhere near the advertised prices. Some will...

The market for yachts in nz is a little irregular. I've done some work with a local brokerage and my experiences are:

As IT suggested there are plenty of boats for sale asking more than they're worth. This can be driven by a range of reasons e.g.

-husband has been told by wife to sell boat but really isn't motivated

-owner has spent $$$ on items for the boat and thinks this should be recoverable

-owner thinks their boat should be worth what it was 5 years ago and doesn't recognise the market price has dropped for their vessel

-owner is simply trying it on and is prepared to negotiate