Robertson Autopilot Rudder angle fault

Has anyone had problems with this fault? The autopilot will work well until this fault comes up and then loses steerage. Spare parts for older models?

I have rechecked it and the autopilot isn't nexus but a hydraulic unit that I will have to check on he make??! A Robertson unit.

Need more info on the fault and your set up.

We have a nexus ap, octopus hydraulic pump and a seperate rudder angle sensor, on top of the hydraulic ram.

If we had a rudder angle fault I would suspect the rudder angle sensor. They aren't that robust in comparison to the Rams etc. I think just an electrical resistor thingy, gives more resistance the further the rudder is over, etc. don't mix well with the marine environment.

Robertson is now Navico (Lowrance ,Simrad,B&G). I'm an agent.

Sorry but your description of the fault is a bit vague.

What exactly does the AP say when the fault is present? What is the AP model?

If the error is "no rudder response" then have you actually checked that the rudder moves?

Is there a particular event that triggers the issue? (SSB transmission used to do this a lot!)

Quite likely I can get you a suitable rudder angle sensor if that is actually what the problem is...

OK, that can be the AP needs to have the dockside setup procedure needs to be rerun, to calibrate the sender and to reset the straight ahead position. If you can give me the model of the AP, I should be able to give you the instructions to do this, if you don't have the manual.

Cheers

Matt

Right, getting there. The control unit will be the AP22 (Simrad). The rudder feedback unit looks like an early rfu300 - or maybe a RFU25 - is it possible to read the label?. Whats the AP computer? J300X, J3000X maybe? The type of computer dictates the particular rudder feedback unit required.

Anyway, step on is to do a factory  reset on the AP, and then run through the setup procedure (in the install manual) again to see if the issue goes away.