Photo

Anyone in Waikawa who could help me boost my confidence?

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 gert

gert

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 December 2017 - 08:46 PM

Hi everyone!

A little while ago, I bought my first sailboat, a beautiful 1986 Sadler 32 called “Honey”, currently in Waikawa. I have only sailed her once, because she’s out of the water right now for repairs, and I’m replacing the rigging as well. But if everything goes according to plan, she’ll be back in the water before Christmas!

I’ve been sailing on friends’ boats for a few years, and I’ve done some sailing courses (including a "cruising skippers" course), so I’m not a complete novice, but I still have a lot to learn, especially because I’ll be sailing singlehanded most of the time.

Honey is really well set up for singlehanded sailing, but there are things that are tricky when I’m by myself: I don’t really know how to pick up a mooring ball alone, or how to drop or raise the anchor on my own. And getting my boat in and out of her berth is still pretty scary!

I think I would really benefit from spending a day on the water with someone experienced, who could talk me through practicing the things I mentioned. But I live in Wellington (I want to sail Honey across and keep her in Wellington) and I don’t know anyone in Waikawa.

If you're a salty sailor close to Waikawa who would be happy to show a passionate first-boat-owner how to feel confident on his boat, get in touch!

Cheers,
Gert

Edited by gert, 01 December 2017 - 08:46 PM.

#2 kiwipilgrimnz

kiwipilgrimnz

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 December 2017 - 05:01 AM

Hi..keen to help...If you like to PM me I'll give you my details :)

#3 gert

gert

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 02 December 2017 - 10:17 AM

Awesome, thank you! I'll be in touch!

#4 Knot Me... maybe

Knot Me... maybe

Advanced Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,777 posts

Posted 02 December 2017 - 12:07 PM