I want to lengthen my pole!

SanFran

You heard right.... My jockey pole is around 4ft long, (which makes it fit in beside the quarter berth nicely) but is only any good for poling out from the stay, which requires a tie off on the beak/stay.

Both ends are good, so to add another, say 4 foot of length what might be the best way to do this, bearing in mind I like the idea of putting it away each night... Is it possible to cut (ouch), and insert... (sorry the puns are coming thick and fast here) a slightly thinner / thicker piece of tube, with a thing like what hospital crutches have?

Any suggestions anyone?

Nick

im no pro but i dont see why not. similar idea to a retracting prod cept it wont see anywhere near the load. have some string inside it to stop over extension and a pin that locks the 2 tubes together. want it to be a good fit (teflon bearings or something maybe) to avoid a hard spot that could fold it in half.

If stowing alongside the quarterberth wasn't the key criteria and you were willing to keep it on the side-deck, you would have more options and require a lot less engineering.

some boats have eyes on the deck inboard a bit (cabin top between stays and mast) for the beak to clip onto and the outer end is stayed down to the toe rail. clipping the inner end to the stay doesnt seem right. is there a genoa track up there you could attach an end to a dud car that slides on when required? just throwing ideas round.

Hey SanFran what are you using it for ?

Jockey pole, whisper pole or both ?

Sounds like it maybe a jockey pole that you also want to use as a whisper pole .

If this is the case look into the telescopic option but if you just need it longer then take the ends off and get a longer tube then setup something on deck to stow it.

Hey SanFran what are you using it for ?

Jockey pole, whisper pole or both ?

Sounds like it maybe a jockey pole that you also want to use as a whisper pole .