Roller furling system

I'm currently looking at purchasing a 26 ft yacht in Auckland. I'm a beginner and am wanting to ease into sailing. I've narrowed my search down to two boats, a salthouse 26 and a raven 26. I'm after a boat where once I get competent, I can sail with my wife and infant son, and where my wife doesn't have to do anything but watch my son.

The raven doesnt have a roller furler, but has a few other aspects that I do like. Who can I talk to, to get a good idea on what a roller furler would cost to install? Is there a crowd in Auckland who would do this?

Asking price for the Salthouse is $16k, and the Raven $14k, so I can easily justify a couple of grand, maybe a bit more if that is in the ball park?

...just bearing in mind that the equation needs to include the hardware plus the sail that goes on it.

When they first came out, the old thinking was commonly "I will just get a rooted headsails cut down as a furler" but...well, that sentence kind of speaks for itself. If you are able to dredge up some of the old posts about dacron sails and cruising laminates, Booboo made some comments in there that are worth reading.

Furlers are great things for cruising but I think its worth pointing out that furlers tend to be more widely used on bigger boats where the size of the sails makes them difficult to manage. You won't see many 26fters with furlers because raising and lowering a headsail that is hanked on to the forestay on 26'er isn't really that hard. You may be solving a problem that you aren't ever going to encounter and the $ may well be more benefit if spent on something else for the boat. I'm not saying don't do it, just wait until you have sailed it a few times without a furler.

I have to agree, furlers are great but can add alot of complexity and cost. Pretty hard to go wrong with the simplicity of hanks, you sails will last longer out of the weather as well.