Masthead gear

ScarecrowR31

Did this to my 930 about a year ago, but was having the standing riging replaced at the same time so dont know what the individual cost was. But its a pretty simple conversion small set of forward swept spreaders, with dyform wire, and a new slot and block for the masthead halyard. I now fly masthead kite and gennaker without any problems. Makes a big improvement in downind performance, and the mast hasnt fallen over yet!

stu

I'm not an engineer, and generally construction projects and building stuff is definitely stuff I leave to others. I saw your rig when Redline came in after the Wine Race Stu, so I know what you are describing.

What I don't understand is why the forward sweptness? Intuitively my non engineering brain would think that the jumpers should be aft swept - but clearly a lot of boats have them are forward swept, and a lot of masts don't fall down. I am not trying to say everyone has it wrong. I am trying to work out why I don't understand what is happening in those sections of the masts...

I figure the masthead kite tries to pull the top of the mast forward and/or sideways and forward, depending on the wind angle.

I figure that the jumpers are trying to support the top portion of the mast... therefore my brain says you need something to stop the top of the mast pulling forward.

Is where my brain misses the point that as the very tip of the mast gets pulled forward the middle of the top prtion of the mast (the portion above the top spreaders) is being bent or compressed backwards and lis likely to fail backwards? Is that it? So the jumpers support the middle of the top portion from compressing? And the top mast backstay tries to prevent the tip of the mast pulling forward.

Is that it?

or is it that the tension on the jumper wires presses the jumper struts into the mast, and that therefore forward swept jumpers press BACKWARDS into the mast?