Anchor watch app

A friend was just telling me he has an app on his phone that makes it call another number (his wife's phone) if the GPS notes he moves more than x metres. Uses it when he goes ashore, if he drags the boat calls him and tells him.

Sounds like a good trick, anyone else know about it?

I have been using an android one for about 4 years called Anchor Alarm, works very well.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.meditgbr.android.anchoralarm&hl=en

Nice to have when its windy as it displays the distance from where you dropped the pick even before it triggers the alarm. Good piece of mind without having to get out of your bunk.

The phones/tablets use a mixture of Cell Tower triangulation, what WiFi networks it can see, and GPS. Some devices do not have a GPS chip (iPADs with no GPRS functionality for instance) & rely on the first two, the others would use whatever mix is available with you would hope a preference for GPS.

At least with iPhones/iPADs they upload a list of GPS coordinates & visible WiFi networks so via a data connection a device can figure out where it is in the absence of GPS.

Recently we moved house, WiFi moved with us with the same ID, then looking on "Find your iPhone" one or two devices still showed as being at the old address even thought they had GPS chips in them, so they were reporting their location back based only on viewable WiFi networks rather than consulting their own GPS data. Although at some point the coordinates of the network must be reported & it did correct after a few days. Would expect that Navigation apps use the GPS chip all the time, would not like to think they were using the boat next door's WiFi ID that was updated a day or so earlier!!