Let the whingeing begin

Yachting: Oracle set to shun US as hosts

12:09 PM Thursday Aug 19, 2010

The next America's Cup looks likely to be a multihull event.

Oracle is set to shun the United States and hold the next America's Cup in Europe.

It's understood there isn't the financial willpower in the US to stage the regatta with the State of California broke.

Commentator PJ Montgomery says Larry Ellison is also poised to announce the Cup will not be raced in monohulls.

He says we should know in the next couple of months that the America's Cup will be raced in multihulls in La Maddalena in Italy.

Montgomery says there could be a small revolution from challengers on Oracle's hands.

He says Team Origin has already indicated it is not interested in multihulls.

- NEWSTALK ZB

I'm new to the Multi forum so I have to watch my P's & Q's, but I disagree with one design. However a box rule would work wouldn't it? Just like for the races in February. This allows for innovation which is great for us ordinary mortals eventually. Let them decide on bicycle or tricycle. Also make sure the racing is going to be good to watch. Set a lower and upper wind limit so that no one gets bored watching them drift along in 2 knots of breeze but say for arguments sake have an upper limit of 25 knots. Whaddaya reckon?

At the TeamVodafoneSailing launch tonight I had a good chat to Harold Bennett about this very subject.

It looks like all those who decide are strongly in favour of multis, after consultation with teams, media, designers etc.

One of the interesting tidbits to come out was that they're looking to dictate the size of the prod, and that's it. Any size sails teams want to hoist, they're welcome to. It'll be interesting to see some of the more brave/stupid decisions made in this regard!

multis are, of course, the way to go. One deisgn is not. Sorry Matty, but the AC is sposed to have an element of design in it, so a box rule multi would be good.