gert

Singlehanded cruising, lines ending at mast?

Hi forum, I'm new here. I've been sailing for about five years on mates' boats, but now I'm looking at buying my first boat and I'm interested in cruising —short trips for now, but like many others I'm dreaming of one day sailing off to distant shores.

There are currently two boats on the market that I'm interested in: a Carter 33 and a Cavalier 32. Both boats have tiller steering, furling headsails, and main halyards and reefing lines ending at the mast.

Since I'll probably do a fair amount of sailing on my own, I'd have to run up to the mast to raise or lower the main. Does that setup make it impossible to singlehand, or can it be done? How would it work?

Thanks heaps!

welcome Gert.

Logically if you can deal with halyards etc without leaving cockpit its easier, and safer, but loads of boats have the same set up that you have described and it doesn't make it impossible by any means. I reckon single handing make you better because you have to anticipate/plan and do things before they are demanded . You got to allow more sea room to do things, you have to devise cunning little strategies.

It always amazes me how much time simple things take - when fully crewed these things are done just like that, but no so simple when single handed.

You'll have a ball, you'll cry in your beer some days but you will learn plenty and no matter which way it goes - well or not so well - its your doing.

Stay safe, enjoy.

Welcome.

Its not impossible to single hand that set up.

Basically you need an autopilot. For hoisting or dropping the main, all it needs to do is hold the boat head to wind (i.e. make the boat go straight).

being tiller set up's, it will be easy to get a cheapy tiller pilot if they don't already have one.

Having to go to the mast to reef single handed is a bit of a headache. You would need a tiller pilot that can handle sailing in edgy conditions (i.e. blowy enough that you've decided you need to reef).