Sign in to follow this  

Good beginner boats?

Hi all,

Finally got my account activated, yay!

I'm very new to sailing (recently finished a class), and just starting to look up boats. I'm looking for something that's easy to sail and safe for coastal sailing with the wife/family. I see the Southerly 23 listed for pretty cheap (about $5k on avg, is that right?) but I've seen mixed reviews from forums and other places. The Variant also looks good, but a bit more expensive (around $7k average?).

I'm also keeping my eyes on Tracker 7.7, Reactor 25, Raven 26, and Farr 727, but those are a lot more expensive and I'm not sure if it's worth the investment for a first boat.

Thoughts/info/recommendations would be appreciated. Keep in mind that I'm a complete beginner. Also, I definitely don't want a trailer-sailer, as I've heard that they're a bit harder to sail and/or not quite as safe.

Add the S&S 24 to your list to watch for.

Ah, right, yeah I forgot about them since I can't seem to find any of them on trademe.

Do you guys know what are the benefits of the more expensive boats (Tracker, Reactor, etc) in comparison to the cheaper ones (Southerly, Variant)? Does it have anything to do with safety or ease of handling?

As someone who's recently gone through the same process, my best advice is to get on a few and have a look around - you'll quickly start to see big differences in things like cockpit space, headroom etc.

Ravens for example are really roomy inside - great for sailing with the family - but perhaps at the expense of a bit of performance. Variants have bugger all headroom, but they're great value and very stable/safe little boats. My partner recently sold his for about 5k so you can pick them up pretty cheap. Reactors have a reputation for being incredibly seaworthy little boats - many have sailed oceans - but I found them a little too cramped for my liking, etc etc.