Mast head/Fractional pros and cons

Hi Guys, I signed up to this forum a couple of years back, been poking around, I think I have made a couple of posts in the dim and distant past....probably on marine mechanical matters as that is my forte... but now I have a question as the heading states.

I have my own opinions and thoughts on Masthead vs Fractional.... favoring twin spreader masthead for cruising and fractional configurations for racing.... but I am no expert, just somewhat opinionated.... Some forums and publications have them near equal rated in both cruising and racing worlds, hence I an seeking a little more clarity before making a commitment.

I have been googling it and went through ever subject on this forum that comes up when I search "Fractional Rig". Now I would like to throw it out there for comment.... two identical boats 10.5m, fin keel and spade rudder moderate displacement, not light weight flyers or steel Colin Archers varients. In every way they are identical except rig. Both are keel stepped.

1) 7/8 fractional with a single spreader

2) MH with twin spreaders (sloop although it would end up with a removable inner forstay if I was to go cruising offshore)

Could I have your general thoughts on the pros and cons of each and in which circumstances you would choose one over the other?

Looking forward to the comments and following what may be an interesting debate.

And could anyone steer me towards some recommended reading on the matter....?

Thanks

Paul

Hi LBD . I think the debate has many parts. Fractional easier to de-power meaning short crewed advantages ( and can still be masthead).  But with code 0s and gennaker  development masthead gives light air capacity with increased luff length. Of course  designers get around this with higher aspect rigs. This adds running backstays etc. Personally I like a high aspect fractional and found running backstays and topmast backstay not that much of a hassle.