liveaboard

we also have an 11 month old baby girl, we sailed around the Marlborough sounds and akaroa with her when she was under 6 months in our trailer sailer....am i being too irresponsible...should i just buy another house like most people do......decisions, decisions.......

Hell no, our kids were 1 and 6 when we took off, best thing we ever did for them, and they would agree.

I need a small essy to answer all this, can you wait til tomorrow?

absolutely, i would really appreciate your input. we are at a junction with the opportunity to do this but would have to commit everything.........

I read somewhere you can always buy another house or another car if it doesn't work out for you, but if you don't do it, you'll always regret it and you can't just buy another life or go back and do it when your old :problem:

My wife and I are trying to do exactly the same as you but the only difference is we are 1 year ahead of you.

I'm no expert, in fact far from it (you should see the look on the yachties faces at some of the stupid questions I ask, but i'll keep asking its the only way to know the answers) and so you won't get an expert opinion, just bits of an opinion mashed in with our experience thus far:

We looked at so many yachts and we bought one that was setup as a livaboard already (thank god we did) because all we need to do now is kit it out for sailing while living on it (which is easy as the living parts havnt been touched hardly at all and we can go through our daily routine with ease). If it was the other way around I imagine it would be quite a mission to live in something that your building and renovating, its been hard enough sometimes for the wife with various things for the yacht in the lounge that she has come home to find ( I miss having a garage! ).