A GRP Lotus 9.2 has come across my radar as a possible purchase but I have no personal experience of them. What are they like to sail single or short handed? How tender are they? How wet are they? How do they handle heavy weather? Could they get a Cat 1 if desired? Any issues or things to be aware of as they have aged? Weak points? What's the current purchase price range, not the advertised price range? 

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Would you like me to jack you up a ride on one, I can easily do that. You can also chat to the owner who's had if for a while and both races and cruisers her. The boat is in Westhaven. If nothing else I'm sure the owner wouldn't mind having a chat about them.

PM a contact number/email if you're keen and I'll hook you up.

A GRP Lotus 9.2 has come across my radar as a possible purchase but I have no personal experience of them. What are they like to sail single or short handed? How tender are they? How wet are they? How do they handle heavy weather? Could they get a Cat 1 if desired? Any issues or things to be aware of as they have aged? Weak points? What's the current purchase price range, not the advertised price range? 

They're good boats.  Relatively heavy displacement amongst the typical 80's kiwi 30 foot designs like ross/young/farr/lidgard/whiting etc.  Also some would argue slightly under rigged - Alan Wright went on to design an updated version, the lotus 950 with a few minor tweaks including a bigger rig, so between the rig and the heavier displacement not especially tender.  With good sails and well sailed they still go ok and hold their own in club racing fleets.

Big volume inside for the 9.2m length.  Not sure on cat1, see no reason why not other than that they're small by todays offshore norm.  I'd imagine some have been offshore in the past although I don't know for sure.