Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Some of the 200 odd new race rules are nudging the WTF? category.

Projections now don't count on start or finish lines, I feel sorry for the race officials as that will cause some fun n games. 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

For example  old rule 26.1

image.png

Compared to the new rule

image.png.974ebc3557202cf0dd1232d9bf978d30.png

The words .. crew or equipment have gone?!

So does the bowsprit constitute hull or equipment... can;t find a definition quickly of what a hull is and what is equipment.

 

Check rule 14, that's a really big change for some fleets, no exoneration from a minor collision even if you were right of way but could have avoided.

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Ed said:

So does the bowsprit constitute hull or equipment... can;t find a definition quickly of what a hull is and what is equipment.

My understanding after a chat with a NRO is that people, poles, bowsprits, anchors and all that now do not count on the line, starting or finishing, it's only the hull itself.

That's going to make race management fun and the protests quite exciting.

The Rule 14 change is both good and bad. I'll stop a few of the recidivist pantystains that use their bows and known ignorance as a weapon but it'll also stop some of the real fun close 1/4's battling.

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 17/07/2020 at 10:30 AM, Ed said:

Check rule 14, that's a really big change for some fleets, no exoneration from a minor collision even if you were right of way but could have avoided.

Rule 14 is fundamentally the same.

All the exoneration parts have been grouped in a new 43.1 section to bring them all together. 

43.1(c) A right-of-way boat, or one sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled, is exonerated for breaking rule 14 if the contact does not cause damage or injury.

The big change here is IS from SHALL.  It is now completely clear that exoneration occurs at the time of the incident so a boat believing it is exonerated is not breaking rule 2.

Rule 18 now turns off when you have given mark room. 

And rule 16.2 P dipping S is an excellent addition. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 17/07/2020 at 10:30 AM, Ed said:

So does the bowsprit constitute hull or equipment... can;t find a definition quickly of what a hull is and what is equipment.

 

 

On 17/07/2020 at 10:30 AM, Ed said:

Check rule 14, that's a really big change for some fleets, no exoneration from a minor collision even if you were right of way but could have avoided.

 

Sorry to have to inform you but, in addition to the 158 pages of the "Racing Rules of Sailing" there are these documents which may or may not also apply to your situation while racing at any given time: (page 4 of RRS)

ONLINE RULES DOCUMENTS
World Sailing has established a single internet address at which readers will find links to all the documents available on the World Sailing website that are mentioned in this book. Those documents are listed below. Links to other rules documents will also be provided at that address.
The address is: sailing.org/racingrules/documents
Document
Guidelines for discretionary penalties
Changes made to these rules after 1 January 2021
World Sailing Regulations
The Case Book
The Call Books for various disciplines
World Sailing Regulations with the status of a rule
Interpretations of Rule 42, Propulsion
World Sailing Offshore Special Regulations
Appendix TS, Traffic Separation Schemes
Hearing Request and Hearing Decision Forms
Rules for other windsurfing competition formats
Standard Notice of Race for Match Racing
Standard Sailing Instructions for Match Racing
Match Racing Rules for Blind Competitors
Test Rules for Umpired Radio Sailing
Rules for other kiteboarding competition formats
Up-to-date table of national sail letters
Notice of Race Guide
Sailing Instructions Guide
Guidance on conflicts of interest
Guidance on misconduct
World Sailing Judges Manual
 

Given that you have struggled to link two rules together within the basic RRS I think a bit more study is required before you join the protest committee ( on either side of the table).

Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, CarpeDiem said:

Rule 14 is fundamentally the same.

All the exoneration parts have been grouped in a new 43.1 section to bring them all together. 

43.1(c) A right-of-way boat, or one sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled, is exonerated for breaking rule 14 if the contact does not cause damage or injury.

The big change here is IS from SHALL.  It is now completely clear that exoneration occurs at the time of the incident so a boat believing it is exonerated is not breaking rule 2.

Rule 18 now turns off when you have given mark room. 

And rule 16.2 P dipping S is an excellent addition. 

Tanks Carpe, I;d missed that bit.

 

Oh and BOIGuy, appreciate the links and info, but be nice mate. This should be a good conservation about the new rules, not slagging people off👍

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...