SI Boat Builder ion Liquidation

wheels

Ian Franklin Boat Builders of CHCH and Waikawa has been put into Liquidation, owing just over $918,000. Most of it is owed to various finance companies, although over $236K is to unsecured debters.

Its been going downhill for a long time I believe. Always been talk of him owing money to people. Waikawa should have been profitable. Should have probably packed up the chch factory a long time ago. They built a huge number of racing yachts back in the day.

I have a few Questions.

Is this the "Official" end of boatbuilding in NZ? (other than Superyaccht builders)

How many new builds (under 50 foot) are being built in NZ per year now?

Do we have a production Boatbuilder in NZ?

Should the Boatbuilding industry, in NZ, declare a Drought and Claim some Government assistance?

:wtf: I'm just getting into boating as everyone seems to be getting out :wtf:

I looked at the price of a new build 35-40 footer but @$350-400k i decided you could get a very tidy 40 footer for well under half that.

A fair few 1000 and yes a few of them. You need to stop the negativity as all that comes from that is more negativity. Think positive and things will get better.

Anyway - Ian has had a ruff year or 2 with one place being nailed by an earthquake and then being booted out of the other by his landlord, the Ports of Marlborough, who them took Ians facilities and started up in competition to him. None of that would have help them at all.

A few other business's are also running into competition coming in the form of their own council. Just look at how un-marine business friendly Akl Shitty Council has become. That can only hurt both the industry and their very own ratepayers. Hell, Akl Shitty Council is even in competition with itself............ and it's all paid for by it's ratepayers.

Negatively? :wtf:

Sorry Knot me but i am asking questions. They were not statements.