not enough carbon!

well, went out on saturday for a nice sail, 10-14kts? wouldnt of thought any thing would of broken, nice flat water, perfect trapeze reaches, they snap, my rudder blade broke just under the bottom of the rudder stock (blades been pushed down to far in the photo)

i ended up going for a swim and drifting dangerously close towards the rocks :sick:

shows that the last owner of 203, when he built the foils, didnt put enough carbon on, probably 2 layers ?

now time to find a new rudder stock and blade before the summer season finishes :problem:

DSC00321.JPG

DSC00322.JPG

P1140733.jpg

I am not a composites engineer, but I have been building my own carbon bits and pieces for a few years now. There are others on these forums far more competent and experienced in this technology than me. I probably over-engineer them, but I get the desired results and acceptable weights. Here are some lightly educated thoughts.

If you race and class rules limit the use of carbon, check the rules first.

Firstly, it is not possible from the pictures to understand the weight of the cloth used in your application. Nor can I comment on whether the application was completed correctly. Even if the engineering design was appropriate, if it was not properly wetted out it will not have acquired the strength it was capable of.

Secondly, it looks like a twill weave was used. I use twill for cosmetic applications (where I want that really cool carbon fiber look). I do not use it where my key objectives are strength and light weight. For blades I always paint them white (for UV protection). Even though the paint is sanded to a thin film, cosmetics are never my objective. So twill is out.