User Manuals

Ok, I consider myself to be of above average intelligence (quiet you lot), I did a major in terrestrial geophysics many years ago. Plus I've been playing with boats and their gear for over 40 years.

So on this last trip I need to pull out the user manuals on some bits and pieces of equipment - the boat had lots of "stuff" to play with.

Totally unintelligible would not be far off a description. Who writes these bloody things?

The worst were the Spectra Watermaker manual and the Kombi inverter manual.

Totally unintelligible would not be far off a description. Who writes these bloody things?

Lawyers.

Thanks to the good ole' US of A, manuals aren't to show one how to use a device anymore, they're to protect the manufacturer's ass.

Hey Squid. I know nothing happened but any chance of a write up on the trip? Always admired those catanas as a cruising boat ($$$$$$). I'd be interested in what you thought of her, what it was like to sail, average speeds etc. Also, how was clearing into Aus? Any problems with AQIS and customs/immigration, after the horror stories we have heard? If I had been home, I would have been keen to do that trip with you.. Always away when the fun happens...

Hey Squid. I know nothing happened but any chance of a write up on the trip? Always admired those catanas as a cruising boat ($$$$$$). I'd be interested in what you thought of her, what it was like to sail, average speeds etc. Also, how was clearing into Aus? Any problems with AQIS and customs/immigration, after the horror stories we have heard? If I had been home, I would have been keen to do that trip with you.. Always away when the fun happens...

Here goes, apologies if you aren't interested.

The owner had the boat delivered to NZ in order to sell it, apparently the Aussies insist on paying duty in Aus if it changes hands, even if thew transaction is from one foreigner to another.