Elecro San

ab1974

I need to put a holding tank into the Cat.

We've got two heads (one in each hull) and I am looking at leaving one as a straight overboard flush to use at sea.

The other one I want to put in a holding tank. However I've also been doing some research on Electro-San systems.

This will cost me a little more than a holding tank set up but will save me space and weight. Is also another thing to go wrong and from what I can gather use about 2amp per flush treatment.

Anyone have the Electrosan fitted and any thoughts??

Have seen the airhead, good idea but not what I want to do here.

How old Is the system on your dads boat Clipper? Is it a Lectrasan or the newer electrasan?

I think it is prob close to 15 years, def more than 10. Is a lectrasan I believe

This is off the cruisersforum.com site for what it is worth - dated 13 April 2009. It is an email response from Raritan and looks to match the current draw mentioned in the manual. I have no personal experience with these but was watching this post with interest.

As for our Electro-scan, a 12 volt unit draws approximately 5 amps for the first 30 seconds, then it switches to the second (treatment) cycle, where it draws 36-37 amps continually for an additional two minutes. The total cycle is 2.5 minutes, and it is supposed to be operated every time the toilet is flushed. Earlier model Lectra/San units (before 2005) drew 50 amps during the second (treatment cycle) after the first 30 seconds had expired.

The OP might be familar to some of you.

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f115/lectrasan-toilet-waste-treatment-system-25300.html

Yep at an average of 1.27 amp/hr that is pretty lean, assuming one flush per hour.