Used boat market story

floatsome

A version of that article pops up every couple of years and Ian Franklin always seems to one of the ones that is crying about it. Not saying it isn't justified. But then, he also came into Waikawa many many years ago now and got work buy undercutting everyone. So????

The thing is with these imports is, they have been coming in for a long time now and will continue to as long as they meet the a need. The damage is done and no one is ever going to change that now. So instead of these guys whining about it, they have to look at how they go forward. Don't ask me, i am no expert in this. These guys have been in the game all their working lives. They are the ones that should have the answer or at least the experience to try and find an answer. One of the big problems NZ manufacturers have is that they are slow to change. They don't look at how to evolve and keep pace with their market. They turn up to work everyday expecting the same thing to happen and as they say, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over, each time expecting a different result. Marine is no different to any other industry. All industries face the same thing and those that have survived are those that have made the changes required.

This issue is going to get worse for the new boat market as long as wages and all other expenses increase and our Dollar increases in strength.

and a lot of the nasty fizzies coming in are designed as lake boats with shallow or moderate V's. Not really that great for NZ sea conditions or even some of the lakes for that matter.

Mum likes the inside cos its flash so she signs it off when the reality is they are probably way better off (performance and safety) with an NZ designed and built deep V boat that doesnt have acres of plastic wood inside.

There is a showroom set up in the new Seaview complex that is selling new import fibreglass fizzies and big RIB's from China.