cruising new zealand.

Hi,

I am new to sailing and am looking at geting into it to sail arround the south island and north island. I am currently located in Te awamutu in the north island, I am looking at a 12ft hartley to learn an practice sailing on then will be geting a larger boat to go arround new zealand on. What would be classed as a good sized yacht to take me and my partner arround new zealand? Also would a full offshore boat be required or a good coastal cruiser?. We dont wan't to get to the differnt places fast. and why sail in bad conditions? so were just looking to move along slow and explore slowly. What would you experienced people suggest?

You must sell there boat's as i have seen plenty of people doing it with boats under 400k, I actuley used to hold the lease on a boat yard in whangarei and have seen plenty of boats of all different sizes come from all arround the world. But have never realy explored the idea of doing this befor hence the reason i have come here for knoledge

there are a huge range of boats for you to choose from, your budget and what sort of standard of living you would want could range from the afore mentioned Benetau to a Spencer Saraband or similar, one of which has recently been down as far as Stewart Island, mostly single handed.

I believe that people have circumnavigated New Zealand successfully in boats as small as Pied Piper and a Southerly. It depends on budget and the degree of comfort and safety you want.

Conditions around New Zealand can get as bad as most places around the world. Shallow water causes waves to get steeper, and rocks are harder than water. So being near the coast is more disadvantage than advantage in bad conditions.