learn to sail uni project

bowmanjono

Hi, I'm a Massey University student in my final year. I'm studing industrial design and for my major project I'm designing a product to help build confidence in learn to sail students. I'm not sure what it is going to be yet and I was wondering if anyone has got any ideas that could get me started.

Some ideas I have already are:

sailing simulator - put an existing boat on a device that rocks and rotates to help the user get accoustomed to the movements of a sailing boat

land yacht - steered with a tiller to get the user more familiar with how to steer a boat whilst being on land in a familiar environment

Any discussion on the above ideas or new ideas would be much appreciated

I've often thought that the Maritime Museum, whilst interesting for me, had nothing for the "bored teenagers" to do. I liked the ships bridge, but the radar etc was not working from memory. I must admit it was a few years ago and I'm overdue to revisit.

So setting up different types of winches, (showing developments Murray, Lewmar, Harken etc in sheet winches, self tailers through to coffee grinders and multiple linked winches) using different purchases, and have time trials to set a fastest time or beat various "named" sailors would be a good way to burn off that surplus teenage energy.

Likewise:

A series of different sized and different brands of manual bilge pumps to use

A heeling machine for keelers so you can step into the cockpit and get the sensation.

Discovering the ways a "marine toilet" works, water flows pumps etc

Other not sailing but interesting:

A cargo net to climb over

A working set of derricks to lift a load from a ship's hold and swing over and lower onto the wharf.

Hope that helps

Thanks for your comments.