Hot water cylinder - Not on boat

So what's a good HWC brad?

We're putting in a solar hot water system, and have been offered choice of SolarMaster or Peter Crocks.

One is copper inner 1mm the other 2mm stainless.

I'm normally a copper man. 

Anyone have opinions on which way to turn?

R

I'm no expert but I would have thought copper would have been the most durable, I would have thought SS would 'work harden' with heat cycles and water hammer 

Not a lot of sales pitch going on. System is for solar with wetback additional.

There's nothing in the price but normally the stainless ones are more expensive and quoted as being the "rolls royce" of cylinders.

It does seem strange to me, though, to have a stainless heat exchange coil for the wetback... 

Also mixing of metals like that...I can't see it ending well with copper fittings and stainless systems - heating and cooling contraction etc.

Bu ti might be limited as to brands and suppliers as the solar system has a bunch of probes etc.

My father in law was telling me about a stainless one he had, mixing of metals would cause a standard element to quit unless than a week. So if choosing ss, make sure all compatible.

use of SS and hot conditions look no further than our Dairy industry, lots of boiling water, steam, acids etc. go through them every day they are in operation. I would look for a heating element taht is compatible with SS though. Or if there isn't going to be any mains power input,  the heating coil from the engine / generator exhaust will be all you need.

I missed the non boat use!!!