The ideal Dinghy

BvanVugt

Hey Guys

Im a uni student looking for some advice as to what sort of dinghys there are racing around Auckland with decent sized fleets

Im looking for something fast like a skiff or catamaran but most of them (12ft, Javelin, Farr 3.7, A-class) dont seem to have much of a fleet, or seem to be sailed my mainly older guys.

Any thoughts for classes that seem to fit the bill?

Or of anyone looking for something similar that could help start a movement for the younger generation coming out of starlings and looking for something more exciting then a Laser.

Cheers

Hard to go past a Jav for Value for Money.

Virtigo is for Sale at the moment- You'd probably get her for $1500-$2000.

12Footer cost a lot more to run but More HP....and thrills again.

Auckland Sailing Club- for both classes- Check out their website and go down on a race day.

Do you have a Crew? You need someone solid to sail with you regularly to get any fun from 2 man skiff...

Don't pick on the old guys, in the laser fleets a lot of "kids" are surprised at the number of old farts finishing in front of them

Kitesurf :thumbup: . And race a keeler/sports boat/multi bigger than an f18. And expect kite-surfing racing to make an NZ appearance if it beats out the RSX for an Olympic spot.

Thanks Guys

I think ill look into the 12ft-er's and Javelins at the Auckland sailing club

What size fleets do the regularly get?

Sorry Squid, its not the fact "old guys" are slow, its more the social side that i want to have similar aged people for.

Plus lasers seem a little boring and as far as i can see the biggest thing going for them is the size of the fleets. I want to learn how to sail well as a precursur to moving on to bigger faster keelboats and multis, such as the mini 6.50's.

As far as the kitesurfing goes i can definately see them taking off but id really like to be able to just start without needing to learn the basics again.

They might be easier then they seem but i doubt it.