Choosing a replacement winch

I have a Tasman 20 with the original winches and I'd like to replace them. Does anyone have suggestions of what to use? Self-tailing seem to be pretty expensive (possibly more than the boat), so looking at more the 200 each kinda range. Second-hand would be considered too.

Also, what type of cleat should I pair with this? Planning on attaching at location of arrow.

I'm quite new to sailing so I appreciate the advice.

Black Label Stern.jpg

Black Label.jpg

winch and cleat place.jpg

Winch 1.jpg

What you have are one of the better winches made in NZ. Yes they are old tech, but if serviced occasionally they will do another 30 years. Plus no cleats to add if you replaced them with a non self tailing winch. On a Tasman 20 they will cope with anything you can throw at them. A good scrub and "polish" will show them in another light altogether.

• Upvote 4

We have 7 of those winches on our 37 footer, for halyards, refs etc. You wont get better for $200, that is for sure. They are kind of self tailing, in that you can lock the sheet off on top and grind in the last little bit.

As Steve says, give them a polish (and maybe a clean and lube on the inside) and they will give you great service. The only reason I'd change those are if you did put proper self tailors on. But for the size of sails you are handling, I doubt it is worth the effort and cost.

• Upvote 1

^concur.

Pull them off and do a really good service on them - they are simple devices and built to be serviced by the mechanically inept, so don't be scared of them.  With the loads on a 20' TS, they will outlast most other components on the yacht.

• Upvote 1

Agree with all above and will add moving the winches aft may create a lead angle being interferred with by the vessels curve aft, check before moving anything there is likely a very good reason they are where they are.

• Upvote 2
On 6/05/2021 at 3:34 PM, Steve Pope said: