Yacht Insurance on a Mooring (Okahu Bay)

dshorter

Hi All,

I'm a first time writer long time reader.

We have just bought our first keeler, a S&S 24 moored at Okahu bay.

http://www.dolphin24.org/coochita_Falcon24.html

Am already looking forward to some summer cruising, albeit she need a spot of work before then.

So I am having a bit of trouble finding insurance for the boat on a swing mooring.

Have tried club marine and mariner marine but no dice.

Only State so far has said they would think about it based on getting a out of water survey done.

Not sure on cost of this, can anyone advise.

What do other people do for insurance ?

Can anyone recommend a boat on swing mooring friendly insurance company.

Try Baileys, second from the top left hand side

Thanks for the recommendation.

FYI I just got in touch with Baileys and got the below reply.

Thanks for contacting us.

Very sorry, but we are unable to insure vessels in Okahu Bay.

Regards,

Neil Bailey

As you are discovering, it is hard to get insurance on swinging moorings so if State say they might consider it, that could be one of your only options. You might be able to arrange a cheap & chearful out of water survey option if you can dry out on some poles somewhere and pursuade the surveyor to trudge around at low tide. Cheaper than a lift and hold at one of the yards.

It is about the last thing you want to hear, having got to the point of buying a boat.

It does not bode too well for the future of Okahu Bay moorings either, if it becomes an area of uninsured boats.

Both insurance brokers advertising on this site are well regarded, so I wonder if it is worth following up your email with a phone call and a "generalised" discussion which might uncover some info that you wouldn't get in a written response e.g.:

- are they aware of anyone in the business still covering Okahu Bay?

- could they offer you cover with any exclusions that would be acceptable to you?