Torqeedo outboard

As opposed to inboard electric engines, outboards electric engines are not cost prohibitive to me, such as the Toqeedo 2R with remote control.

http://www.torqeedo.com/en/products/outboards/cruise/cruise-2.0-r/M-1230-00.html

If I l got one I would i'd want to keep the 24 volt system, required for the e-outboard, separate from the 12V house system.

The solar panels for the house system are going to be flexible and mounted on deck and / or coachroof.

My boat is only 26 foot, so I don't have a lot of room for panels other than the 12v flexible solar panels on deck and coach-roof for the house system, so for the 24v system I will have to build stainless steel arch aft to lay them on top of - it may all sound too hard, but thought of not having to eff around with a marine diesel which I have little experience of, plus being able to close up the aperture and gain some speed will be well worth it despite the drawback of limited range and charging dilemmas.

The batteries I will require to run the Torqeedo would be two x 180ah 12 V Deep Cycle.

So, will I need 24 volt panels to charge these batteries, so, anyone got any idea how much wattage of 24v solar panels I would need?  150 watts? 200 watts ?

Cheers

A 205 watt hard panel, 24v, measujres 1581×809×40mm from a particular local retailer.

I'm thinking of something similar to what you see aft on the boat in this pic 

solar panel arch.PNG

I helped the local agent with some testing on Toqeedos, they are fun and have some balls BUT........

the current in Amperes times the source Volts = the power in Watts

The unit you linked to uses 200ah for 2 hours range or 100 amps per hour at full tittie. So that's - 100 Amps times 24V = 2400 Watts you'll need to put back in at the pace it's coming out.

At 'slow' it uses 20 amps so that's - 20 Amps times 24V = 480 Watts

Ouch! That's a lot of panels.......................... assuming I have it right.