Wheels drift & 'nom de plumes'

L'escale

Wheels drift in recent post where he refers to difficulty in meeting up at anchor leads me to comment thus:-

1) I have never agreed with the use of a 'nom de plume' on this site as it does make it impossible to recognise another crewdoter via their boat name - if we all used our boat names (incl wheels) then problem solved.

I acknowledge that this has the potential for the odd negative due to the potential to settle old scores!

2) Although I am not a prolific poster I do lurk a lot and have noticed some (well a lot actually) comments made that might be better thought through if they did not enjoy the anonymity that a 'nom de plume' gives.

Doesn't keep me awake at night just think it might be a better site if adopted/encouraged?

I look forward to others thoughts on this and especially from 'Grumpen Fuhrer head Ogre' :wave:

ACTUALLY...

I think it would be a much better site if NO-ONE used their boat names.

Far too often on here, someone who knows someone who knows you, works out exactly who you are on this site. They then read one post you have made, decide that you are a dick head and tell everyone at their yacht club such. So because of one person who might have taken something completely out of context, you end up with a bad rap with people who have not yet met you and do not know you in any way.

Because this is the internet and anyone can read it, names should be anonymous to anyone except those you actually want to know and communicate with. The nature of this is that people might say things they otherwise would keep to themselves. If you are browsing this, or any other web forum, you have to remember that most things are not said to cause offence. Sometimes they will be heat of the moment and sometimes it will just be you interpreting it the wrong way. Some times things will unfairly target an individual and result in a private dispute being aired publicly, in which case it should be moderated.