$1 reserve boat

I'm pretty new to sailing and just heard about this website. So I hope I can get some advice.

My partner is a mechanic but hasn't had much experience with marine engines. We are thinking very seriously about this boat which may be a bargain but could be a can of worms. We've managed to look aboard with a friend. It's nice inside but needs a cleanup.

What do people think? We've only got one day to decide.

Here's the link.

https://www.trademe.co.nz/a/motors/boats-marine/yachts/keeler/listing/3969369830

Thanks everyone

Kelly

Depends on the final price. Buying the yacht is only a part of the cost of ownership. Where would you keep her? Looks like needs hauling and re antifouling, annodes and other normal maint stuff. Look at haulout and hardstand costs at your nearest facility. There are many worse boats out there than an easterly 30. Most of the boats on trademe for $1 are not worth repairing. This one may be different, it may not. I've not seen her personally.

Think about the maint costs. Would you do most yourself?  1st is hull and structure condition? Sails and rig condition? Mechanical condition? Electrical, plumbing and ancillaries? Boats are quite complex. Can you, or do you know someone who could have a thorough look, or a proper survey? If not, or not sufficient time to organize, walk away.  

If that's not daunting, or you are prepared to take the risk, bid away!

Oh, and boats ARE WORTH IT... in my (somewhat biased) opinion :-)