Jump to content

prada cup finals, best of 13....first to 7 wins


Recommended Posts

And its over.desevred win to LR. 2nd race start both early,uk tack and LR dial up to prevent cross and got a penalty for changing course. Yet I read that unlike conventual rules you can alter course as far 90 degrees,so why a penalty to LR?

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
39 minutes ago, harrytom said:

And its over.desevred win to LR. 2nd race start both early,uk tack and LR dial up to prevent cross and got a penalty for changing course. Yet I read that unlike conventual rules you can alter course as far 90 degrees,so why a penalty to LR?

 

LR penalty was because they were OCS, not because they luffed. 

The 90 degree rule is for bearing away. Not luffing. And only applies if the port tack boat is dipping you.

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Ducati vs Triumph,  Ferrari vs Lotus, Sophia Loren vs Elizabeth Taylor.

And now Luna Rosa vs Ineos.

Well Done LRPP, roll on the actual AC

Lets see how a Ducati goes against a Brtten instead of the British.

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, CarpeDiem said:

LR penalty was because they were OCS, not because they luffed. 

The 90 degree rule is for bearing away. Not luffing. And only applies if the port tack boat is dipping you.

Broke rule 16 altered course.changed cousre LR after uk started,

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, harrytom said:

Broke rule 16 altered course.changed cousre LR after uk started,

LR was ocs.  LR got a penalty for being OCS.  The video and commentary is pretty clear on this. 

56 minutes ago, harrytom said:

seems inconsistant rulings,might pay to watch again,LR failed to allow uk to keep clear,no penalty for being over start.

GBR was ahead and clear at the cross. Rule 10 - no breach. 

LR on stb headed up - Rule 16 - requires them to give Ineos Room to keep clear when changing course

When LR headed up as row boat, Ineos bore away to keep clear.

LR protested Ineos for not keeping clear - Ineos has protection under Rule 16.

Further, the video quite clearly shows that Ineos kept clear. 

So no penalty to Ineos. 

That was the umpires call - of course if you're disagreeing with the umpire then that's a different discussion... 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, harrytom said:

Yet I read that unlike conventual rules you can alter course as far 90 degrees. 

 

3 hours ago, CarpeDiem said:

The 90 degree rule is for bearing away. Not luffing. And only applies if the port tack boat is dipping you.

Now that I have gone and looked up the 36th AC rules. There is no 90 degree rule like in the 35th AC.   It's now a proper course restriction. 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

when listening to communtary they talked about osc then a bit later,maybe minute 2 or 3 they get the umpire call about not holding course,End of the day best boat won. Does make wonder if LR let UK win a race though but cannot really see LR throwing one.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, harrytom said:

when listening to communtary they talked about osc then a bit later,maybe minute 2 or 3 they get the umpire call about not holding course,End of the day best boat won. Does make wonder if LR let UK win a race though but cannot really see LR throwing one.

 

I’m not a conspiracy theorist normally but it does make you wonder, given how easily Prada outpointed INEOS in the last race yesterday but didn’t on Saturday. 

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, Addem said:

I’m not a conspiracy theorist normally but it does make you wonder, given how easily Prada outpointed INEOS in the last race yesterday but didn’t on Saturday. 

Agree. Even more a bit Hmmmm..... when Prada said Ineos would win 1 this weekend.

It's obvious Prada was faster and they knew it. So being 5 up they could afford to turn a race into a training exercise.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, KM... said:

Agree. Even more a bit Hmmmm..... when Prada said Ineos would win 1 this weekend.

It's obvious Prada was faster and they knew it. So being 5 up they could afford to turn a race into a training exercise.

 

Hell of a risk to take though, but does seem strange, after penalty 60m behind to round first mark 120m?ahead

Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, harrytom said:

Hell of a risk to take though, but does seem strange, after penalty 60m behind to round first mark 120m?ahead

Yeap but the few bits I've seen have had a Prada sailing under zero pressure so maybe they felt the risk was worth it. 3 teams risked over 100 million bucks they'd get to sail in a AC.

Link to post
Share on other sites

https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/coronavirus/124384189/covid19-big-schedule-of-major-events-cancelled

 

The opening weekend of the America’s Cup heads a list of major events in Auckland that are cancelled or in doubt as the city shifts back into Covid-19 alert level 3.

Auckland will enter level 3 at 6am on Sunday, while the rest of the country will move to level 2, following the discovery of two new cases in the community.

The America’s Cup was due to start on Saturday, March 6, but cannot proceed under level 3 without the Government approving a specific exemption for the biggest crowd draw in nearly three months of racing.

The regatta organisers, America’s Cup Event said in a statement it was reviewing the situation and will be working with the authorities over the next few days on the implications.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Feb 28, 2021 2:04 PM
Rhonwyn Newson
 
 
The first weekend of racing in sailing's America's Cup match has been postponed due to Auckland's level three restrictions.
 
Organisers announced the four scheduled races between Team New Zealand and Luna Rossa on Saturday and Sunday next week won't go ahead.
 
Racing will not take place before at least March 10th.
 
Organisers say the preference is for racing to be held at alert level one, but they will apply for an exemption to race under level three restrictions to keep their options open.
 
 
Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, harrytom said:

The first weekend of racing in sailing's America's Cup match has been postponed

Disappointing !!  Dern !! 

Watched a Gary Jobson interview on Youtube yesterday. He thinks, based on what he saw in Bermuda, that the Kiwis have been sandbagging. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...