Careful with that Silicone AntiFoul

Apparently they knew it was a problem and were waiting for a crane when it fell so no one got hurt, must be very slick. Hope to try it out if it can be made smooth like paint.

Application is by approved applicators (I work for Gloss Boats). Its a three day process to correct application but gives a very smooth and slippery surface. Longevity? Still to be seen however the manufacturer gives a very good warranty period.

Its been around a while but maybe the price puts people off so not much feedback on a racing yacht. Have heard that its soft so easily damaged but IDK. Are you able to give us an idea of cost?

44 minutes ago, Psyche said:

Its been around a while but maybe the price puts people off so not much feedback on a racing yacht. Have heard that its soft so easily damaged but IDK. Are you able to give us an idea of cost?

Approx 2.5x the normal AF costs

I've been using silicone foul release for over 5 years now, started with soft coating since it was all that was available, now using a hard coating.

The soft coating was a nightmare to apply, and failed to live up to the durability claims. We were told we would get 5 years out of it minimum. It did it's job as a foul release, but wore so rapidly that we had to start considering replacing it after just over 2 years. Thankfully, that product is no longer available.

We've been using a hard coating now for about 2.5 years. It performs better all round. When clean, at cruising speed under power, we have about an extra knot over what we got with a clean hull and conventional antifoul. We have about an extra 0.5 knot over the clean soft silicone foul release. With one caveat, the product we are using seems pretty durable. We poke around in a lot of interesting corners that you really probably ought not take a 40ft yacht, so we "bump" the keel a bit, but never at speed. We don't seem to be losing much of the coating through this.